To break the legs of a dancing tongue….

“Tell us, who he is?” “Tell us, who he is?” A mother side relative asked her child pointing at me. The child was mum initially, but when her mom kept pestering, it said “monkey!” No one expected this, laughter kicked in and she spanked her child to not to speak like that. Clearly, I had not shaven for a month and had quite a beard (Even without it, I guess I retain my resemblance with my African cousin.) The child was taught one golden rule, never to use animal names on humans. My aunt did call up later to laugh on how her kid  hesitated to call Bear grylls by his full name!

The kid had its opinion and as expected it was inhibited for its own rightly reasons. Manners are important! What worries me is that when inhibition is done to a needless extent and tied to a subjective saga of morality.

Apart from looks, the next most influential in this world is the tongue!  Any culture always tries to dominate these two. Ask yourself, have you ever thought of telling to your father “Dad, She/he is hot!” If you could think of it, high chances are that you belong to economically rich or intellectually elite family. Generally, to describe beauty – a bad mannerism for boys and a crime for girls!

***********

There is one particular sect of people in every country, I call them Offended Owls! (OO) One characteristic feature of theirs is that they borrow morality from religion! They value views and cries of their “no electricity seen” race over views of reason! I am least bothered about it. I don’t care if they choose wife by the position of stars. I don’t even care if they believe earth as six thousand years old rock. But unfortunately they enter into my caring domain when they influence the seat of power with their babyish bullying diktat on what to say and what not to say. Reason they give is that they are offended! As if that add weight to the argument.

Incidents pour in everyday from Puliyur Murugesan to AIB-Cardinal Saga, from countless banning of books to pressurizing film industry. Recent one is the beef ban! (One must find their funny reasons on why this was important)

Offended? My my! They are offended by couple enjoying together on Valentine’s Day; they are even offended by some folks kissing; they are offended by the nudity in art. They are offended by women’s dress; they are offended by a book; they are offended by homosexuals; they are offended if they are questioned. Surely, these people have too many sensitive organs in wrong places.

OK, I wanted to see how OO recipe work. I tried to taste their dish, I found this. Watch this. (From 5:00)  What surprised me was the fact that many didn’t see any skew in this child. Dangerous times! Watching this kid, many can envy my childhood when even with all its ills; I had time to kill butterflies!

I think we are all privileged to distinguish right from wrong without the coat of pseudo patriotism. We too are equally offended when you dare to raise your hands against lovers; we too are equally offended when you protest to ban a book which not just you don’t read, you can’t read!

But when we are offended! We take path of a comment in face book or a blog or a symposium, unlike the party of gods who take sticks and vandalize theaters and burn rubber on streets. I remember one of their supporters saying that they are peaceful unlike ISIS who literally kill the “difference.” So you know where they want to score marks!

Whenever someone says “This is against our culture” just see how much he competes with his asshole! Culture is not stagnant. It is a river whose trail can only be seen by a man who swims along with it (Lagrangian approach.) and not by the one who stand at the banks and put pebbles to stop it.

Every livings dream and goal is to experience every sensation of creativity bound by natural justice and order. I live in India which has a secular viewpoint and a Godless constitution! The essence of our constitution is to develop scientific view point and not stick to draconian old orders. India has too many problems; problems which suck the juice of joy from every common man. Every patriotic colored soul must fight those. To sing against poor comedian chaps who are neither solution nor cause, serves no solution to nothing. Take your sticks and spank those who kill lakes and brutalize biosphere. To put it in your language, those who molest your Bharath Mata literally!

Let the tongue dance to the tune of mind. And Yes! Tongue is nude, don’t be offended by it and force the tongue to wear cloths! LOL, Am I giving them Ideas?

PS: The writer has supreme respect to Owls and it remains his favorite bird. Any indirect insult to its dignity is rued.

Leave a comment